last site
Mahe

Seychelles Information & Links
klicken Sie hier fuer die Deutsche Version diese Seite in Deutsch >>>

 

Page:  [ 1 ]   [ 2 ]   [ 3 ]   [ 4 ]   [ 5 ]

SEYCHELLES  TRAVEL-INFORMATION

Lokaltime:

GMT plus 4 hours, MEZ plus 3 hours, MESZ plus 2 hours.

Entry:

Visa until 4 weeks stay (you can prolong) and a passport with at least 6 months validity. Persons above 18 years may be imported 400 cigarettes, 2 litres alcohol and articles up to a value of 3000 SR.

Departure:

Travellers over 12 years must prove with a coupon on departure, that the passenger service charges (US$ 40 in 2003) was paid in a hotel, at banks or at the airport. Turtle tanks and objects from tortoiseshell, corals may not be exported. For the exportation of a Coco de Mer it requires a written approval which you receives among authorized sellers.

Journey:

The international Airport is located in "Point La Rue" on Mahé. The flight transfer after Alphonse and Desroches lasts for about 45 minutes.

Language:

Creole is a mixing language, consisting of the original dialects and the colonial language and remind therefore always strongly of French in the Seychelles. They Seychellois understand, however, also French and English on the tourist islands.

Religion:

90 per cent of the population is already Roman Catholics, nevertheless many Seychellois are still very superstitious and believe in mysticism and sorcery.

Population:

Rounds 80,000 Seychellois up (Creole "Seselwa") lives alltogether on 115 islands, about 90 per cent of this on the two main islands of Mahé and Praslin.

Travel time:

Recommendable is May until October. The most dryly months are June, July and August, the most precipitations fall in December and January. Short showers of rain must always be calculated.

Climate:

Tropically warm climate. During the southeast monsoon of the end of May until September the air is cooler and drier, during the northwest monsoon of October until May the air is warmer and damper.

Clima grafics:

average day temperatures in °C

average night temperatures in °C

average sea temperature in °C

average sunshine hours per day

average days with sunshine and average days with rain or showers

average days with rain

History:

800 AD landed the first Arab seafarers. 1501 a Portuguese seafarer discoveredthe Farquhar archipelago. 1502 Vasco da Gama discovered the Seychelles. 1756 the Irish captain Corneille Nicolas Morphey declared the islands as French possession. 1811 be the Seychelles annexed by the Brits. 1875 become the Seychelles to an exile place. 1903 the Seychelles become a British crown colony. 1934 first money of one's own. 1948 first right to vote. 1970 first one constitution. 1976 the Seychelles attain the independence. 1977 government revolt. 1981 attempted putsch of South African mercenaries fails and in 1993 there was an increase party choice after 16 years again.

Tides:

to the Seychelles Tides Calculator (powered by Seychellen-Web)

Mobile telephon:

Mobile telephone works only on the most Inner Islands.

Internet:

The Internet is very slowly and sometimes for days not available on the islands. It gives 2 Internet café in Victoria and it cost 2 Euros for 15 minutes (stand 2003).

Holidays:

January 1st and 2nd (New Year), Good Friday, May 1st (day of the work), Corpus Christi, June 5th (day of the liberation), June 18th (national holiday), June 29th (independence day), August 15th (Ascension Day), November 1st (All Saints' Day), 8. December (Maria conception) and 25. December (Christmas).

Diving:

Middle view and water temperatures between 26 and 29 degrees centigrade, in some places at times cold depth flows. Great richness in fish and often also big fish up to the Tiger Shark and Sperm Whale.

Snorkels:

Since El Ninjo the corals are here also no longer so beautiful but there is often to see whale sharks between October and April.

Geografical position:

Of 3° 43' up to 10° 8' southern breadth and of 46° 10' up to 56° 20' eastern length in the Indian ocean.

The islands:

Sea area of 1 million km², land area 454 km². The Inner Islands consists of granite rocks and the 905 metres high Morne Seychellois is the highest elevation in the east of Victoria on Mahé, the Outer Islands are low coral islands.

National parks:

The Aldabra atoll, the islands Aride, Cousin and Curieuse are completely under conservation. There are however also other nature reserves, as the Morne Seychellois national park and the Valleé de May on Praslin (absolute smoking ban!), as well as the sea national parks, like the 80 hectares great Baie Ternay at the westernmost end of Mahé (preferential spawning ground of the Karett turtles) and parts of the sea in front of Praslin, as well as the mangrove woods in the Turtle Bay.

Coco de Mer:

The biggest coconut the world, the up to 20 kg heavy "Coco de Mer" grows only on Praslin and Curieuse, but a couple of copies are also in the botanic garden in Victoria. Approximately 3000 pieces are sold to tourists by it (only by a written exportation approval) every year.

Flora:

All islands are covered luxuriantly, the greatest variety of species if mixed already with imported species, too, grows, however, on Mahé. The original "cloud forests" still thrive in the higher areas.

Fauna:

Giant turtles (the best known is Esmeralda on Bird Island and she is 300 kg heavily and between 120 and 150 years old), lizards, salamanders, geckos and a huge number and species of birds, among this also the Great Frigatebird with up to 2 metres of span width.

Food:

Additionally to international kitchen in the hotels you should eat absolutely also local specialities, as bouyon bred (Chinese cabbage soup), lasoup pwason (fish-soup), lasoup tektek (mussel soup), kari pwason (fish curry), kari zourit (Octopus curry), pwason griye (grilled fish), pwason sale (spicy dried fish) and ladob banan (bananas cooked into coconut milk). To this satini is also served. These are Chutneys from native fruits, but you should never eat this Chutney, the satini reken, because this is a Shark Chutney!

MISS SIMONE DE COMARMOND

The Maldivian Tourism Minister wellcomes the Seychelles Tourism Minister Mrs Simone de Comarmond at the Maldivian Night 2003 in Berlin

Joern Bernard and Peter Beek speaks with the Tourist Minister of the Seychelles Mrs Simone de Comarmond about the action 'Protect the Maldives'

Mrs Simone de Comarmond in Berlin at the ITB 2003

The Tourism Minister 2003 of the Seychelles Mrs Simone de Comarmond

Maldivian Night 2003 in Berlin: 1) In 2003 Mr. Hassan Sobir was still the tourism minister of the Maldives and welcomed here the tourism minister of the Seychelles, Mrs Simone de Comarmond. 2) Mrs Simone de Comarmond was very interested in our explanations about environmental protection and our environment action "Protect the Maldives". 3) and 4) Mrs Simone de Comarmond which was still the tourism minister of the Seychelles in 2003.

LINKS FROM AND ABOUT THE SEYCHELLES

visit Travel Seychelles.ch

SEYCHELLEN.ORG

SEYCHELLEN.CH

SEYCHELLES ATLAS

AIR SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN-INFOS

SEYCHELLENFORUM

SEYCHELLES MAGIC

METEO-SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN-BILDER

NATURE SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN - WETTER

VIRTUAL SEYCHELLES

WIKIPEDIA - SEYCHELLEN

WIKIPEDIA SEYCHELLES

GSM WORLD SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLES BREWERIES

ALPHONSE ISLAND RESORT

HELICOPTER SEYCHELLES

MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT

DESROCHES ISLAND RESORT

REISEFÜHRER SEYCHELLEN

COUNTRY STUDY SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLES NATION ONLINE

AUSWÄRTIGES AMT SEYCHELLEN

REISEMEDIZIN - SEYCHELLEN

MAURITIUS ISLANDER CATAMARAN

YELLOW PAGES SEYCHELLES

SEYFLY - SEYCHELLES FLY FISHING

LA DIGUE - CHATEAU St. CLOUD

MINISTRY OF TOURISM & TRANSPORT

SEYCHELLES ISLAND FOUNDATION

NATIONAL ARTS COUNCIL SEYCHELLES

DOWNTOWN COLUMBIA CITY CENTER

SEYCHELLES.COM - AS PURE AS IT GETS

SEYCHELLES MINISTRY FOREIGN AFFAIRS

PRASLIN ISLAND - CALYPHA GUESTHOUSE

NATURE PROTECTION TRUST OF SEYCHELLES

MARINE CONSERVATION SOCIETY SEYCHELLES

ANTI-FINNING KAMPAGNE AUF SHARK-PROTECT.INFO

SEYCHELLEN ERLEBEN   -   SEYCHELLEN URLAUB


Please excuse the bad translation, but I speak only a little English and no translation program isn't perfect
©
Photos, Text and Graphics: Gerhard Geyer - Any use of this pictures is forbidden

Last change: May 2006

zurueck zum Seitenanfang

If You don't see the Menu, then click here!    Se non vedete il menu, allora scattisi qui!

last site
Mahe

Seychellen Infos & Links
click here for the English version of this page this page in English >>>

 

Page:  [ 1 ]   [ 2 ]   [ 3 ]   [ 4 ]   [ 5 ]

SEYCHELLEN  REISE-INFORMATIONEN

Lokalzeit:

GMT plus 4 Stunden, MEZ plus 3 Stunden, MESZ plus 2 Stunden

Einreise:

Sichtvermerk bis 4 Wochen Aufenthalt (kann verlängert werden) und ein Reisepass mit mindestens 6 Monaten Gültigkeit. Von Personen über 18 Jahren dürfen 400 Zigaretten, 2 Liter Alkohol und Artikel bis zu einem Wert von 3000 SR eingeführt werden.

Ausreise:

Reisende über 12 Jahre müssen bei der Ausreise mit einem Coupon nachweisen, dass die Passagierservicegebühr (2003 waren es 40 US$) im Hotel, bei Banken, oder am Flughafen bezahlt wurde. Schildkrötenpanzer und Gegenstände aus Schildpatt, Korallen dürfen nicht ausgeführt werden. Für die Ausfuhr einer Coco de Mer bedarf es einer schriftlichen Genehmigung, die man bei autorisierten Verkäufern erhält.

Anreise:

Der internationalen Flughafen befindet sich in "Point La Rue" auf Mahé. Der Flugtransfer nach Alphonse und Desroches dauert etwa 45 Minuten.

Sprache:

Kreolisch ist immer eine Mischsprache, bestehend aus den ursprünglichen Dialekten und der Kolonialsprache und erinnert daher auf den Seychellen stark an Französisch. Auf den Touristeninseln wird jedoch auch Französisch und Englisch verstanden.

Religion:

90 Prozent der Bevölkerung sind bereits Katholiken, trotzdem sind viele Seychellois noch immer sehr abergläubisch und glauben an Mystik und Zauberei.

Bevölkerung:

Rund 80.000 Seychellois (kreolisch "Seselwa") leben auf insgesamt 115 Inseln, davon etwa 90 Prozent auf den beiden Hauptinseln Mahé und Praslin.

Reisezeit:

Empfehlenswert ist Mai bis Oktober. Am trockensten sind die Monate Juni, Juli und August, die meisten Niederschläge fallen im Dezember und Januar. Mit kurzen Regenschauern muss jedoch immer gerechnet werden.

Klima:

Tropisch warmes Klima. Während des Südost-Monsuns von Ende Mai bis September ist die Luft kühler und trockener, während des Nordwest-Monsuns von Oktober bis Mai ist die Luft wärmer und feuchter.

Klimagrafiken:

mittlere Tageshoechsttemperaturen in °C

mittlere Tiefsttemperaturen bei Tag in °C

mittlere Meerestemperaturen in °C

mittlere Anzahl von Tagen mit Sonnenschein

mittlere Anzahl von Sonnentagen und Regentagen

mittlere Anzahl von Tagen mit Regen oder Regenschauern

Geschichte:

800 n. Chr. landeten die ersten arabischen Seefahrer, 1501/02 entdeckte ein portugiesischer Seefahrer die Farquhar Inselgruppe, 1502 entdeckte Vasco da Gama die Seychellen, 1756 erklärte der irische Kapitän Corneille Nicolas Morphey die Inseln als französischen Besitz, 1811 werden die Seychellen von den Briten annektiert, 1875 werden die Seychellen zu einem Verbannungsort, 1903 die Seychellen werden eine Britische Kronkolonie, 1934 erstes eigenes Geld, 1948 erstes Wahlrecht, 1970 erste Verfassung, 1976 die Seychellen erlangen die Unabhängigkeit, 1977 Regierungsputsch, 1981 Putschversuch südafrikanischer Söldner scheitert und 1993 gab es nach 16 Jahren wieder eine Mehrparteienwahl.

Gezeiten:

zum Seychellen Gezeitenrechner (powered by Seychellen-Web)

Mobiltelefon:

Handies funktionieren nur auf den meisten der Inner Islands.

Internet:

Das Internet ist auf den Inseln sehr langsam und manchmal auch tagelang nicht verfügbar. In Victoria gibt es 2 Internet-Café: 2 Euro für 15 Minuten (Stand 2003).

Feiertage:

1. und 2. Januar (Neujahr), Karfreitag, 1. Mai (Tag der Arbeit), Fronleichnam, 5. Juni (Tag der Befreiung), 18. Juni (Nationalfeiertag), 29. Juni (Unabhängigkeitstag), 15. August (Maria Himmelfahrt), 1. November (Allerheiligen), 8. Dezember (Maria Empfängnis) und 25. Dezember (Weihnachten).

Tauchen:

Mittlere Sicht und Wassertemperaturen zwischen 26 und 29 Grad Celsius, an manchen Stellen zeitweise kalte Tiefenströmungen. Großer Fischreichtum und oft auch Großfische bis hin zum Tigerhai und Pottwal.

Schnorcheln:

Seit El Ninjo sind auch hier die Korallen nicht mehr so schön, aber zwischen Oktober und April gibt es oft Walhaie zu sehen.

Geografische Lage:

3°43' bis 10°8' südlicher Breite und 46°10' bis 56°20' östlicher Länge im Indischen Ozean.

Die Inseln:

Meeresfläche 1 Million km², Landfläche 454 km². Die Inner Islands bestehen aus Granitfelsen und die höchste Erhebung ist der 905 Meter hohe Morne Seychellois östlich von Victoria auf Mahé, die Outer Islands sind niedrige Koralleninseln.

Nationalparks:

Das Aldabra Atoll, die Inseln Aride, Cousin und Curieuse stehen komplett unter Naturschutz. Es gibt jedoch auch noch andere Naturschutzgebiete, wie den Morne Seychellois Nationalpark und das Valleé de Mai auf Praslin (absolutes Rauchverbot!), sowie Meeresnationalparks, wie die 80 ha große Baie Ternay am westlichsten Ende von Mahé (bevorzugter Laichplatz der Karett-Schildkröten) und Teile des Meeres vor Praslin, sowie der Mangrovenwald in der Turtle Bay.

Coco de Mer:

Die größte Kokosnuss der Welt, die bis zu 20 kg schwere "Coco de Mer" wächst nur auf Praslin und Curieuse, aber ein paar Exemplare stehen auch im Botanischen Garten in Victoria. Jährlich werden ungefähr 3000 Stück davon (nur mit einer schriftlichen Ausfuhrgenehmigung) an Touristen verkauft.

Flora:

Alle Inseln sind üppig bewachsen, die größte Artenvielfalt, wenn auch schon mit importierten Arten gemischt, wächst jedoch auf Mahé. In den höheren Lagen gedeihen noch die ursprünglichen "Nebelwälder".

Fauna:

Riesenschildkröten (Esmeralda auf Bird Island ist 300 kg schwer und zwischen 120 und 150 Jahren alt), Eidechsen, Salamander, Geckos und eine Unzahl von Vögel und Vogelarten, darunter auch die Bindenfregattvögel mit bis zu 2 Meter Spannweite.

Speisen:

Neben internationaler Küche in den Hotels, sollte man unbedingt auch einheimische Spezialitäten essen, wie bouyon bred (Chinakohlsuppe), lasoup pwason (Fischsuppe), lasoup tektek (Muschelsuppe), kari pwason (Fischcurry), kari zourit (Oktopuscurry), pwason griye (gegrillter Fisch), pwason sale (gesalzener Trockenfisch) und ladob banan (in Kokosmilch gekochte Bananen). Dazu gibt es satini, das sind Chutneys aus einheimischen Früchten, aber ein Chutney sollten Sie niemals essen, das satini reken, denn das ist ein Haifisch-Chutney !

FRAU SIMONE DE COMARMOND

The Maldivian Tourism Minister wellcomes the Seychelles Tourism Minister Mrs Simone de Comarmond at the Maldivian Night 2003 in Berlin

Joern Bernard and Peter Beek speaks with the Tourist Minister of the Seychelles Mrs Simone de Comarmond about the action 'Protect the Maldives'

Mrs Simone de Comarmond in Berlin at the ITB 2003

The Tourism Minister 2003 of the Seychelles Mrs Simone de Comarmond

Maldivian Night 2003 in Berlin: 1) 2003 war Mr. Hassan Sobir noch Tourismusminister der Malediven und begrüßte hier damalige Tourismusministerin der Seychellen, Mrs Simone de Comarmond. 2) Mrs Simone de Comarmond interessierte sich sehr für unsere Erklärungen über Umweltschutz und unsere Aktion "Protect the Maldives". 3) und 4) Mrs Simone de Comarmond, die 2003 noch Tourismusministerin der Seychellen war.

LINKS VON UND ÜBER DIE SEYCHELLEN

besuchen Sie Travel Seychelles.ch

SEYCHELLEN.ORG

SEYCHELLEN.CH

SEYCHELLES ATLAS

AIR SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN-INFOS

SEYCHELLENFORUM

SEYCHELLES MAGIC

METEO-SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN-BILDER

NATURE SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLEN - WETTER

VIRTUAL SEYCHELLES

WIKIPEDIA - SEYCHELLEN

WIKIPEDIA SEYCHELLES

GSM WORLD SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLES BREWERIES

ALPHONSE ISLAND RESORT

HELICOPTER SEYCHELLES

MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT

DESROCHES ISLAND RESORT

REISEFÜHRER SEYCHELLEN

COUNTRY STUDY SEYCHELLES

SEYCHELLES NATION ONLINE

AUSWÄRTIGES AMT SEYCHELLEN

REISEMEDIZIN - SEYCHELLEN

MAURITIUS ISLANDER CATAMARAN

YELLOW PAGES SEYCHELLES

SEYFLY - SEYCHELLES FLY FISHING

LA DIGUE - CHATEAU St. CLOUD

MINISTRY OF TOURISM & TRANSPORT

SEYCHELLES ISLAND FOUNDATION

NATIONAL ARTS COUNCIL SEYCHELLES

DOWNTOWN COLUMBIA CITY CENTER

SEYCHELLES.COM - AS PURE AS IT GETS

SEYCHELLES MINISTRY FOREIGN AFFAIRS

PRASLIN ISLAND - CALYPHA GUESTHOUSE

NATURE PROTECTION TRUST OF SEYCHELLES

MARINE CONSERVATION SOCIETY SEYCHELLES

ANTI-FINNING CAMPAIGN ON SHARK-PROTECT.INFO

SEYCHELLES EXPERIENCE - SEYCHELLES VACATION


© Fotos, Text und Grafiken: Gerhard Geyer - Jede Verwendung dieser Bilder ist verboten

Last change: May 2006

zurueck zum Seitenanfang

Kein Menue zu sehen? Dann klicken Sie hier!    If You don't see the Menu, then click here!